I have traded in F&O, intraday trades and short term shares

I have traded in F&O, intraday trades and short term shares. My total loss is 2 lacs. Should I get audited? Can you please tell me which ITR is right for me? I am not a salaried Individual.

Thank you.

Hey @Hari_Haran,

If your Income other than trading Loss is less than 2.5 lac & turnover less than crore , you won’t require Audit. You need to fill ITR 3

Hey, I just read the article on Income Tax on Trading, Very helpful for beginners like me, so thank you very much! I have one small question! Does the highlighted part mean that as an Intraday trader I have to file my ITR by July 31 2021? image|690x400

Hi @Anoop

Due date for filing the return has been extended.

Due Dates to File Income Tax Returns for FY 2020-21 ( AY 2021-22 )

Category of Taxpayer Original Due Date Extended Due Date
ITR Filing when Tax Audit is not Applicable 31st July 2021 30th September 2021
ITR Filing when Tax Audit is Applicable 31st October 2021 30th November 2021
Tax Audit Report Filing 30th September 2021 31st October 2021
Due Date for Filing Belated/Revised ITR 31st December 2021 31st January 2022

So, You need to file ITR by 30th September 2021 when Tax Audit is not Applicable.

Hope this helps!

My loss from trading of options is 60,000. I don’t have any other income also. is tax audit applicable to me for FY 2020-21?

Hi @harijanardhan, tax audit is broadly applicable in three cases- in case of other income; reported loss; opted in/out of presumptive tax. Without knowing your entire income situation, I won’t be able to give a definite answer but you can go through this article which will help you understand your audit liability. If you face any other problem, please ask, would love to help.

Hi