Income from Short term gains

Hi!
I have over 50 short term trades from which I have incurred some losses. I have gains from equity intraday. Also I have some gains from long term investments. I am a full time trader. So,

1. Do I have to file all of these gains as my business income.?

2. Can I file my short term and long term gains as STCG and LTCG? ( Is 50 trades a lot to report as STCG?)

3. Can I file my short term + intraday as business income and gains from long term investments as LTCG?

@Sakshi_Shah1 could you help with this ?

Hello @dan

1. You can report equity delivery trading as either capital gains or business income. You can read more about it here - Capital Gain on Sale of Shares

2. You can report your profits from equity delivery trading as Capital Gains. The loss from short term trades can be set off against profits from long term investments. You can carry forward the remaining loss for 8 years and set it off against future STCG or LTCG.

3. The treatment of equity delivery trading should be either Capital Gains or Business Income since it is difficult to prove the intention to acquire such securities to the Assessing Officer. As per our advise, it should either be treated as capital gains or as non-speculative business income.

If treated as capital gains, loss cannot be set off against intraday profits. If treated as non-speculative business income, loss can be set off against intraday profits.

1 Like

Could you please guide me as to which ITR must be filed if I have short term capital gains from mutual funds.

Hey Harshil,

In case of Short Term Capital Gains from Mutual Funds, you should file ITR 2. However, if there is Presumptive Income in addition to the Capital Gains, then you need to file ITR 3. Check out our tool to know which ITR Form to file.

I my gross salary is 3.5 lakh means not taxable and my yearly equity share profit is 20,000 then i want to know is that will i pay 15% stcg tax on 20,000 or not ?

Hi @Kuldeep_Singh