What is Clubbed Income?

Can someone explain to me what is clubbed income and when does it apply??

Hey @riya_gupta

The situation in which the income of another person is included in the income of the taxpayer is called clubbing of income. In certain special cases, the income of other person is included (i.e. clubbed) in the taxable income of the taxpayer. Here, he will be liable to pay tax in respect of his income (if any) as well as the income of other people too.

To understand in detail about what clubbed income us and when does is apply, please refer to the article.

I am a freelance developer. From the income I generate I plan to make some investments. If I gift a part of my income to my mother(not a professional / housewife) and if she makes investments. The capital gains(apart from equity, for example intraday, FNO trading that will be considered as a non-speculative business income and will be taxed at the slab rate instead of flat rate?) on that investment can be taxed at a lower slab rate. Now question is, is this allowed? Or will the income from that get clubbed with my income?

If in the same scenario, if the person gifting was my father, i.e. a husband gifting to his wife and wife making investments. In that scenario, I think it gets clubbed. Will it?

And for non-professionals / housewives who want to start trading, how can they make the initial capital if it will always get clubbed into the income of the person who gifted the initial capital?

I understand the person gifting still has to pay taxes and that’s fine and the recipient doesn’t have to as long as they are a relative of the person gifting.

Hey @phoenix, you can refer to this article for a detailed explanation.

Hi,

I know that if a Husband sends money to his wife and if the wife invests that money and makes some profit then this profit is clubbed with the husband’s income and taxable in the husband’s salary bracket.